Welcome to ThaiEmbassy.com | Saturday, 28th March 2015  

Visa Exemption (Bilateral Agreement)

Passport Holders who can enter Thailand without a Visa

The VISA EXEMPTION RULE allows tourists from 52 countries1 to enter without a visa. They are granted a stay of maximum 30 days but only if entering Thailand via an international airport. However, persons, entering through a land border checkpoint from neighboring countries will be granted a maximum stay of 15 days.

Under the new provisions of the VISA EXEMPTION RULE effective December 6, 2008, passport holders of 52 countries are entitled to enter Thailand under this rule provided that they meet the following criteria:

  1. The visit is strictly for tourism purposes.
  2. They must have a confirmed return ticket to show that they are flying out of Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry, as appropriate. Open tickets do not qualify. Traveling over land out of Thailand by train, bus, etc to Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia (including en route to Singapore), Myanmar, etc is not accepted as proof of exiting Thailand.

    You may be asked to show your flight ticket on entering Thailand. If you do not possess a flight ticket to show you will be exiting Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry you will be most likely to be refused entry.

  3. It will also be necessary to prove that you have funds of at least 10,000 THB per person during your stay in Thailand.

A fee may be levied on persons entering Thailand under the VISA EXEMPTION RULE.

Note that a person traveling using a “UK Travel Document”, a “UK Certificate of Identity”, or a “British National Overseas Passport”, cannot enter Thailand whatever their nationality. They are subject to visa rules concerning their nationality.

UK, USA, Canada, Japan, France, Germany, Italy, Russia, Macau, Hong Kong, Laos, Vietnam will receive 30 days in both airport or land border.

Korea, Brazil, Peru, Argentina and Chile will get 90 days in both airport and land border.


152 Countries allowed to enter Thailand under the VISA EXEMPTION RULE:

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Austria
  4. Bahrain
  5. Belgium
  6. Brazil
  7. Brunei
  8. Canada
  9. Chile
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Denmark
  12. Finland
  13. France
  14. Germany
  15. Greece
  16. Hong Kong
  17. Hungary
  18. Iceland
  19. Indonesia
  20. Ireland
  21. Israel
  22. Italy
  23. Japan
  24. Korea
  25. Kuwait
  26. Laos
  27. Liechtenstein
  28. Luxembourg
  29. Macau
  30. Malaysia
  31. Monaco
  32. Mongolia
  33. Netherlands
  34. New Zealand
  35. Norway
  36. Oman
  37. Peru
  38. Philippines
  39. Portugal
  40. Qatar
  41. Russia
  42. Singapore
  43. Slovak Republic
  44. South Africa
  45. Spain
  46. Sweden
  47. Switzerland
  48. Turkey
  49. United Arab Emirates
  50. United Kingdom
  51. United States
  52. Vietnam